Father Rupert Mayer House

Mons (Belgium)

Renovation and extension for the German-speaking Catholic chaplaincy at NATO headquarters

In the course of the renovation of the existing buildings, a new area with barrier-free access is to be added to the historic complex. The event area for up to 400 people is to be brought up to current building and safety standards. A special focus is the care of the families of the German-speaking employees of all denominations working at the nearby NATO headquarters SHAPE, for which new spatial offers will be created.

Location

In addition to its locations in Germany, the Catholic Military Chaplaincy has contact points for soldiers throughout Europe and worldwide.

The German Catholic Military Parish Office Belgium is based in Mons, where the Supreme Headquarters of the Allied Powers in Europe (Surpreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe, SHAPE for short) is also stationed.

The tasks of the Catholic military chaplaincy include not only caring for the soldiers on deployment, but also supporting the families and relatives in the barracks at home. The work of the military chaplaincy takes place primarily in joint church services, but also in encounter weekends or days of reflection. For soldiers in crisis areas, there are also telephone or video conversations with pastors and chaplains in addition to the local church services.

The Father Rupert Meyer House

The existing building at the Mons site was built in the 1960s and is now in urgent need of renovation. The existing building shows clear deficits for use by the military chaplaincy and its events for the soldiers, but also for family-friendly use and for larger church services and events.

In a joint consultation process, the local community and the representatives of the Catholic Military Bishop decided to partially demolish the existing building and replace it with a contemporary extension. Only the parish hall, which is still in good condition, is to be preserved and included in the new building.

During the planning phase, D:4 placed particular emphasis on the functional integration of the existing hall area and the associated chapel. The new building is architecturally and in its materiality oriented to the existing building, but expands it with the clarity and transparency of a modern building clearly focused on its use by the community.

The extension as well as the outdoor facilities and the access route are designed to be barrier-free and family-friendly.

Pater-Rupert-Mayer-Haus

Mons (Belgien)

Sanierung und Erweiterungsbau für die deutschsprachige katholische Seelsorge am NATO-Hauptquartier

Im Zuge der Sanierung der Bestandsgebäude soll der historische Komplex um einen neuen Bereich mit barrierefreier Erschließung erweitert werden. Der Veranstaltungsbereich für bis zu 400 Personen soll auf den aktuellen haus- und sicherheitstechnischen Stand gebracht werden. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt ist die Betreuung der Familien der am nahe gelegenen NATO-Hauptquartier SHAPE tätigen deutschsprachigen Mitarbeiter:innen aller Konfessionen, wofür neue räumliche Angebote geschaffen werden.

Standort

Die Katholische Militärseelsorge besitzt über ihre Standorte in Deutschland hinaus in ganz Europa und weltweit Anlaufpunkte für Soldatinnen und Soldaten.

Das Deutsche Katholische Militärpfarramt Belgien hat seinen Sitz in Mons, wo auch das Oberste Hauptquartier der Alliierten Streitkräfte in Europa (Surpreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe, kurz SHAPE) stationiert ist.

Zu den Aufgaben der Katholischen Militärseelsorge gehört neben der Betreuung der Soldatinnen und Soldaten im Einsatz auch die Unterstützung der Familien und Angehörigen in den heimatlichen Kasernen. Die Arbeit der Militärseelsorge spielt sich vor allem in gemeinsamen Gottesdiensten, aber auch Begegnungswochenenden oder Besinnungstagen ab. Für die Soldatinnen und Soldaten in Krisengebieten gibt es über die Gottesdienste vor Ort hinaus auch Telefon- oder Videogespräche mit Pfarrern und Seelsorgern.

Das Pater-Rupert-Meyer-Haus

Das Bestandsgebäude am Standort Mons wurde in den 1960er Jahren errichtet und ist heute dringend sanierungsbedürftig. Der Bestand weist für die Nutzung durch die Militärseelsorge und ihre Veranstaltungen für die Soldatinnen und Soldaten, aber auch für die familiengerechte Nutzung und für größere Gottesdienste und Veranstaltungen deutliche Defizite auf.

In einem gemeinsamen Abstimmungsprozess haben sich die Gemeinde vor Ort sowie die Vertreter des Katholischen Militärbischofs dafür entschieden, das Bestandsgebäude zum Teil zurückzubauen und durch einen zeitgemäßen Anbau zu ersetzen. Lediglich der noch gut erhaltene Gemeindesaal soll bewahrt und in den Neubau einbezogen werden.

D:4 legte bei der Planung besonderen Wert auf eine funktionale Integration des bestehenden Saalbereiches sowie der dazugehörigen Kapelle. Der Neubau orientiert sich architektonisch und in seiner Materialität am Bestand, erweitert diesen aber um die Klarheit und Transparenz eines modernen, deutlich auf seine Nutzung durch die Gemeinschaft fokussierten Gebäudes.

Der Anbau sowie die Freianlagen und die Zuwegung sind barrierefrei und familienfreundlich gestaltet.